School of Culture and Society

Organisational unit: Faculty

Organisation profile

The School of Culture and Society continues an almost thirty-year tradition of teaching and research in cultural studies at Leuphana University of Lüneburg.  At the faculty, more than one hundred scholars from disciplines such as art history, literary studies, media studies, philosophy, sociology, geography and history teach and conduct research in a total of five institutes. The faculty currently offers three majors ("Cultural Studies," "Studium Individuale", and "Digital Media") and four minors ("Philosophy," "Digital Media / Information Technology and Culture", and "Studium Individuale") at Leuphana College and four master's degrees ("Critical Studies - Arts - Theory - History", "Media and Digital Cultures", "Culture and Organization" and "Theory and History of Modernity").