John W. Kendrick Prize

Auszeichnung: Externe Preise, Stipendien, Auszeichnungen, ErnennungenForschung

Tim Rathjen (Empfänger/-in) & Joachim Merz (Empfänger/-in)

Dear Joachim Merz and Tim Rathjen,
I am pleased to inform you that your paper, “Time and Income Poverty: An Interdependent Multidimensional Poverty Approach with German Time Use Diary Data, “ published in the Review of Income and Wealth (RIW), September 2014, Volume 60, Issue 3, pp. 450-479, has been selected as the best paper published in the 2014 issues of the journal. For this work, the International Association for Research in Income and Wealth (IARIW) awards you the John W. Kendrick Prize. For 2016, the prize consists of 1000 US$; I leave it up to you regarding how you wish to share this. Your award will be publicly announced at the 34th General Conference of the IARIW in Dresden during the same time period as when the Ruggles Prize winner is announced. The prizes will be announced at the beginning of the Ruggles Ruggles Memorial Lecture session, Tuesday afternoon on August 23. I look forward to seeing you there.

Andrew Sharpe, IARIW Executive Director, will handle the financial aspects of the award.

The Prize was named after John W. Kendrick, a long-standing member of the IARIW and a leading scholar on the measurement of economic growth and productivity in the United States. John provided a generous donation to finance the prize for the first couple of years. During the early years of the award, from 1990 through 1995, a Prize was awarded for each year of the publication of the RIW, with first, second, and third place awards. After falling dormant for a number of years, the IARIW Council and Editorial Board reinstalled the price in 2008 as a means to recognize and show appreciation for the important contributions that many scholars make to research on income and wealth, by publishing their papers in the Association’s journal. Articles published in the previous two years of the RIW were considered for the Prize. In 2010, 2012, and 2014, two awards were granted each of these years: one for the best microeconomic paper and one for the best macroeconomic paper during the previous two year period. The selection format was changed by the Council in 2014, going into effect for the 2016 Prize cycle, to the earlier model: one prize to be awarded for the best article published in 2014 and one prize to be awarded for the best article published in 2015.

The reveiwers did an outstanding job this year with 102 articles to review and a three-step review process. The voting was fierce. Again, congratulations.

All the best,

Thesia I. Garner Chair of the John W. Kendrick Prize Committee
The Review of Income and Wealth (RIW)
Datum der Bewilligung2016