Professorship for Accounting, Auditing & Corporate Governance

Organisational unit: Section

Organisation profile

The professorship for Accounting, Auditing & Corporate Governance works in the areas of financial accounting, external audit and corporate governance. The research activities involve the study of selected issues in regulation, in particular such topics as the economic impact of audit committees, integrated and CSR reporting, aspects of auditor independence and board diversity. The professorship also teaches in the Master’s and Bachelor’s programmes, including modules in the Business Administration Major as well as interdisciplinary modules in the complementary studies programme and integration modules.

Topics

Audit Quality
Following EU legislation on reform of the audit market, provisions on mandatory firm rotation and limits to non-audit services raise issues of the impact of major regulatory measures on safeguarding the independence of the audit firm. Internationally, empirical research on auditor independence has seen considerable attention for a number of years, with mixed findings on its economic impact. This also holds for the impact of joint audits, even though European regulation did not make this a mandatory requirement. This research project studies the effect of audit and non-audit fees of German capital market oriented companies on audit quality.

 
Integrated-/CSR Reporting
After the most recent financial crisis 2008-9, there has been a decline in trust of stakeholders in capital-market oriented reporting by corporations. As a result, traditional financial reporting should be complemented by corporate sustainability reporting, which would ideally be unified into integrated reporting. While there has been considerable empirical research into CSR reporting, this is not yet the case for integrated reporting in the 2013-framework published by the International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC). This research project examines the content elements investors demand and their relationship to the quality of integrated reporting in the German capital market.

 

Audit Committees
In both one and two-tier systems, the appointment of audit committees with independent financial experts is seen as a necessary measure to ensure good corporate governance. There has been considerable research undertaken into the Anglo-American board system and the impact of audit committees on financial reporting quality and on the cooperation with the external auditor and with the internal auditor. This research project studies to what extent characteristics of the audit committee as established by supervisory boards in German companies are able to contribute to the discussion on quality.

 

Board Diversity
Recently there have been a large number of reform efforts aiming at improving corporate performance by increasing board diversity. In addition to introducing the legal gender quota now at the focus of much political discussion, other diversity characteristics such as ethnicity or occupation are increasingly being studied in empirical research on corporate governance. This research project looks at the dual system of corporate governance in Germany and studies the effects of diversity in the management board and supervisory board on the capital market.

Most downloaded publications

View all »

Professur für Accounting, Auditing & Corporate Governance

Organisation: Professur

Organisationsprofil

Die Professur für Accounting, Auditing & Corporate Governance forscht und lehrt zu aktuellen Themen der (inter)nationalen Rechnungslegung, Abschlussprüfung und Corporate Governance. Im Rahmen der Forschungsaktivitäten werden vorzugsweise regulatorische Fragestellungen in den genannten Themenfeldern aufgegriffen und aus ökonomischer Sicht qualitativ/quantitativ untersucht, z.B. Ausgestaltung der (integrierten) Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung und ihre Prüfung, Qualität der Abschlussprüfung auf der Basis von publizierten Prüfungshonoraren, Wirkungen von Prüfungsausschüssen und die Regulierung der Board Diversity. Die Lehrveranstaltungen in den Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen umfassen sowohl Grundlagenveranstaltungen zur Rechnungslegung als auch Spezialaspekte der Rechnungslegungspolitik im Einzel- und Konzernabschluss sowie ausgewählte Themenbereiche der Wirtschaftsprüfung und Corporate Governance.

Themen

Audit Quality
Durch den Abschluss der EU-Reform zur Abschlussprüfung stehen mit der externen Rotation und der Begrenzung von Prüfungs- und Beratungsleistungen zentrale Regulierungsmaßnahmen zur Unabhängigkeit des Abschlussprüfers zur Diskussion. Aus internationaler Sicht stellt die empirische Auditor Independence-Forschung seit vielen Jahren einen Forschungsschwerpunkt dar, die im Hinblick auf die ökonomische Vorteilhaftigkeit dieser Regulierungsmaßnahmen zu heterogenen Ergebnissen gelangt ist. Dies gilt auch für die Wirkung von Joint Audits, wenngleich sich der europäische Standardsetzer nicht für eine verbindliche Einrichtung entschieden hat. Das Forschungsprojekt untersucht auf der Basis von Prüfungs- und Nichtprüfungshonoraren deutscher kapitalmarktorientierter Unternehmen die Qualität der Abschlussprüfung und die Konzentration am Prüfungsmarkt.

Integrated-/CSR Reporting
Nach der letzten Finanzkrise 2008/09 wurde das Vertrauen der Unternehmensadressaten in die kapitalmarktorientierte Unternehmenspublizität wesentlich beeinträchtigt. Vor diesem Hintergrund ist die traditionelle Finanzberichterstattung um eine Nachhaltigkeitsberichterstattung (CSR) zu ergänzen, die idealerweise zu einem Integrated Reporting weiterentwickelt wird. Während das CSR Reporting bereits einen empirischen Forschungsschwerpunkt aus internationaler Sicht bildet, steht das Integrated Reporting nach dem Rahmenwerk des International Integrated Reporting Council (IIRC) noch am Beginn der betriebswirtschaftlichen Forschung. Das Forschungsprojekt behandelt die aus Sicht der Investoren nachgefragten Inhaltskomponenten und die Qualität der integrierten Berichte am deutschen Kapitalmarkt. Fragen der externen Beurteilung der in Rede stehenden Berichte werden ebenfalls diskutiert.

 

Audit Committees
Sowohl in Board- als auch in Dualsystemen stellt die Implementierung von Prüfungsausschüssen mit unabhängigen Finanzexperten als notwendige Maßnahme zur Sicherstellung einer angemessenen Qualität der Corporate Governance dar. Hierbei besteht für das Board-System eine Forschungstradition in Bezug auf die Wirkung von Audit Committees auf die Rechnungslegungs- und Prüfungsqualität oder die Kooperation mit anderen Überwachungsinstanzen.  Dieses Forschungsprojekt untersucht, inwiefern das Anforderungsprofil von Prüfungsausschüssen des Aufsichtsrats im Dualsystem einen positiven Beitrag zur Qualitätsdiskussion zu leisten vermag. In diesem Zusammenhang werden auch Performance-Wirkungen gemessen.

Board Diversity
In jüngerer Zeit wurden aus internationaler Sicht vielfältige Reformanstrengungen unternommen, um die Unternehmensperformance durch die Berücksichtigung von Vielfalt bei der Board-Zusammensetzung zu verbessern. Neben der im Fokus der Diskussion stehenden Einführung einer gesetzlichen Frauenquote im Aufsichtsrat werden auch andere Diversitäts-Merkmale, z.B. Internationalität oder berufliche Erfahrungen, zunehmend in der empirischen Corporate Governance-Forschung untersucht. Dieses Forschungsprojekt richtet sich an das dualistische System der Unternehmensverfassung in Deutschland und untersucht die Kapitalmarktwirkungen von Diversity beim Vorstand und Aufsichtsrat.

Beziehungsdiagramm

Beliebte Downloads

Alles anzeigen »