25th PhD Summer School on Political Parties and Democracy September 13 -19, 2015

Center for the Study of Democracy, Leuphana University Lüneburg/Germany

We are pleased to announce that the Center for the Study of Democracy (CSD) at Leuphana University Lüneburg, Germany, will host the 25th annual PhD Summer School on Political Parties and Democracy of the European Consortium for Political Research (ECPR) Standing Group of Political Parties. Participants of the Summer School will have the opportunity to critically discuss current research on political parties and to present their own research projects. Classes will be taught by an international team of leading academics under the direction of Professor Ferdinand Müller-Rommel (Leuphana University Lüneburg).

Thematically focusing on the role and the function of political parties in contemporary democracies, the program is unique among international summer schools. Its theme is high on the agenda of young researchers, with an enormous increase in the number of doctoral dissertations dealing with political parties being observable in recent years.

The Summer School's dense course program comprises one week of teaching, with around 35 hours of class contact. Participants will attend staff lectures and discussions, but will also get the opportunity to present and to discuss their own research projects in class. For that purpose, they are required to submit a 7000-8000 word paper in preparation for the Summer School. Moreover, the Summer School provides the participating PhD students with the opportunity to build up professional networks with professors and young researchers in their field.

Classes will be taught by an international team of renowned scholars specialized in comparative politics, political parties, and democratic performance. Teaching staff includes Daniele Caramani (University of Zürich), David M. Farrell (University College Dublin), Emilie van Haute (Université libre de Bruxelles), Ezolt Enyedi (European University, Budapest), , Kris Deschouwer (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Hans Keman (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Richard Luther (Keele University), Thomas Poguntke (University of Düsseldorf), and Susan Scarrow (University of Houston).

ECPR provides two travel fellowships for PhD students from ECPR member institutions. Applications should be directed to the Summer School organizers.

Further information on the 2015 Summer School is available on the CSD's web page under:

www.leuphana.de/ecpr-summer-school

ecprsummerschool@uni.leuphana.de

If you have any further questions, please contact the Summer School organizers under: