Linking soil chemical legacies with root economics to improve the predictability of plant-soil feedbacks

Project: Research

Project participants

By modifying the biotic and abiotic components of the soil they grow in, plants create soil legacies that can affect local species coexistence by moderating the relative performance of plant species in a community. These plant-soil feedbacks are often caused by a variety of mechanisms operating simultaneously such as resource preemption, root exudation, or changes in the structure and functioning of soil microbial communities. In recent years, much progress has been made in our understanding of soil microbial legacies and their contribution to plant population and community dynamics. However, the role played by soil chemical legacies in mediating plant-soil feedbacks has yet to be elucidated.
Soil chemical legacies arise from dynamic changes in the identity, diversity, and abundance of organic compounds present in the soil solution of a plant community, which can contain hundreds (if not thousands) of metabolites depending on the environmental context. Although recent evidence supports the fact that some plant species can react to soil chemical legacies by altering their root foraging, it is still unclear whether these chemical plant-soil feedbacks can moderate plant-plant interactions and affect local species coexistence. In addition, it is still unclear why some species react to soil chemical legacies and others do not. This is an important knowledge gap considering that, among all the mechanisms that plants use to interact with their biotic environment, many rely on the synthesis, release, and detection of chemical cues and signals by above- and belowground plant organs.
The main objective of this research project is to improve our understanding of plant species coexistence mechanisms by explicitly considering the role of soil chemical legacies in plant-soil feedbacks as well as its dependence on root economics. This objective will be investigated in the context of global environmental change (i.e., increased nitrogen availability) using grasslands as a model system. This project has three specific objectives: (1) investigating whether root economics can predict plant responses to soil chemical cues, (2) investigating the extent to which biotic (plant species richness) and abiotic (soil N availability) factors interactively affect soil chemical legacies, and (3) delivering new insights into the ecological consequences of soil chemical legacies by studying how changes in soil chemistry can feedback to the next generation of plants. All these research questions will be addressed using new experimental approaches and cutting-edge methods in functional and chemical ecology.
StatusCurrent
Period31.12.2131.12.24
Name of research programmeFunded by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG), Germany
Contract ID (EU) or Grant ID470604360

Verknüpfung bodenchemischer Vermächtnisse mit Wurzelökonomie zur besseren Vorhersagbarkeit von Rückkopplungen zwischen Pflanze und Boden

Projekt: Forschung

Projektbeteiligte

Durch die Veränderung biotischer und abiotischer Komponenten erzeugen Pflanzen im Boden Vermächtnisse, die die lokale Koexistenz von Arten dadurch beeinflussen können, dass sie die relative Leistung von Pflanzenarten in einer Gemeinschaft modifizieren. Diese Rückkopplungen zwischen Pflanze und Boden werden oft durch eine Vielzahl von gleichzeitig wirkenden Mechanismen verursacht, wie z.B. Vorenthaltung von Ressourcen, Wurzelexudation oder Veränderungen von Struktur und Funktion mikrobieller Bodengemeinschaften. In den letzten Jahren wurden große Fortschritte im Verständnis der mikrobiellen Vermächtnisse im Boden und ihrer Bedeutung für die Populations- und Entwicklungsdynamik von Phytozönosen erzielt. Die Rolle, die bodenchemische Vermächtnisse bei der Steuerung von Rückkopplungen zwischen Pflanze und Boden spielen, muss jedoch noch geklärt werden.
Bodenchemische Vermächtnisse entstehen durch dynamische Veränderungen in der Identität, Diversität und Häufigkeit von organischen Verbindungen in der Bodenlösung einer Pflanzengemeinschaft, die je nach Umweltkontext hunderte (wenn nicht tausende) von Metaboliten enthalten können. Obwohl neuere Erkenntnisse darauf hindeuten, dass einige Pflanzenarten durch Veränderungen ihrer Wurzelsuchstrategie auf chemische Vermächtnisse im Boden reagieren können, ist weiterhin unklar, ob diese chemischen Rückkopplungen zwischen Pflanze und Boden die Interaktionen zwischen Pflanzen beeinflussen und die Koexistenz lokaler Arten beeinflussen können. Darüber hinaus wissen wir weiterhin nicht, warum einige Arten auf chemische Vermächtnisse im Boden reagieren und andere nicht. Dies ist eine wichtige Wissenslücke, wenn man bedenkt, dass von allen Mechanismen, die Pflanzen zur Interaktion mit ihrer biotischen Umwelt nutzen, viele auf der Synthese, Freisetzung und Erkennung von chemischen Hinweisen und Signalen durch ober- und unterirdische Pflanzenorgane beruhen.
Das Hauptziel dieses Forschungsprojekts ist es, unser Verständnis der zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen der Koexistenz von Pflanzenarten zu verbessern, indem wir die Rolle der chemischen Vermächtnisse im Boden bei Rückkopplungen zwischen Pflanze und Boden sowie deren Abhängigkeit von der Wurzelökonomie explizit berücksichtigen. Dieses Ziel wird im Kontext globaler Umweltveränderungen (erhöhter N-Verfügbarkeit) in Graslandgesellschaften als Modellsystem untersucht. Dieses Projekt hat drei spezifische Ziele: (1) Untersuchung, ob die Wurzelökonomie als Reaktionen von Pflanzen auf bodenchemische Signale vorhergesagt werden kann, (2) Untersuchung, inwieweit Anzahl an Pflanzenarten und N-Verfügbarkeit die bodenchemischen Vermächtnisse beeinflussen und (3) Bereitstellung neuer Erkenntnisse zu den ökologischen Konsequenzen bodenchemischer Vermächtnisse durch die Erforschung deren Einflusses auf die nächste Pflanzengeneration. Alle Forschungsfragen werden mit neuen experimentellen Ansätzen und modernsten Methoden der funktionellen und chemischen Ökologie angegangen.
StatusLaufend
Zeitraum01.01.2231.12.24
Art der FinanzierungGefördert durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
Förderkennzeichen oder Vertragsnummer470604360