Slow Fashion: Creative, technical and economic innovations for mass-market offerings in the clothing sector

Project: Research

Project participants

  • ECOLOG-Institut für sozial-ökologische Forschung und Bildung gGmbH
The project is being delivered by a research consortium consisting of the Leuphana University (Faculty of Sustainability, CSM), the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Hannover (Faculty III – Media, Information and Design), Reutlingen University (Textiles and Design School), MSH Medical School Hamburg und the Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg. Project coordination is being provided by the ECOLOG Insitute for Social and Ecological Research and Education in Hannover.

The first core question of the project is whether and how innovations in the realms of fashion design, textiles technology, clothing production and service offerings, as well as new business models can contribute to a longer use phase for clothing.
The second set of key questions centers around the diffusion of innovations into the mass market. The project assesses how sustainable innovations can reach beyond the niche markets with early adopters and into the mainstream consumer markets.

The CSM’s research within this project focuses on business models. Initially, sustainability impacts of existing business models are assessed and compared. Opportunities for innovative sustainable business models to become successful in the mass market are analysed subsequently.
StatusCompleted
Period01.01.1530.06.18
Name of research programmeFunded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, within the support measure SOEF - Sozial-ökologische Forschung, fundung area sustainable management
Contract ID (EU) or Grant ID01UT1425D

Publications

Slow Fashion: Gestalterische, technische und ökonomische Innovationen für massenmarkttaugliche nachhaltige Angebote im Bedarfsfeld "Bekleidung" - TP 4: Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement und -marketing im Bereich "Bekleidung"

Projekt: Forschung

Projektbeteiligte

  • ECOLOG-Institut für sozial-ökologische Forschung und Bildung gGmbH
Die Partner des Forschungsverbunds Innovationen für nachhaltige Bekleidung (InNaBe) sind die Leuphana Universität (Fakultät Nachhaltigkeit, CSM), die Hochschule Hannover (Fakultät III – Medien, Information & Design), die Hochschule Reutlingen (Fakultät Textil & Design), die MSH Medical School Hamburg und die Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg. Koordinator des Verbundvorhabens ist das ECOLOG-Institut für sozialökologische Forschung und Bildung GmbH, Hannover.

Die erste zentrale Frage des Projekts ist, ob und wie Innovationen in den Bereichen Modedesign und -entwurf, Textiltechnik, Kleidungsproduktion und Dienstleistungsangebote sowie neue Geschäftsmodelle dazu beitragen können, die Nutzungsphase von Kleidung zu verlängern.
Im zweiten zentralen Fragenkomplex des Projekts wird analysiert, wie der Diffusionsprozess über die Segmente der Innovatoren und frühen Adopter hinaus gefördert werden und die Anschlussfähigkeit nachhaltiger Innovationen in den Mainstream-Milieus erreicht werden kann.

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt des CSM in diesem Projekt liegt auf den Geschäftsmodellen. Es wird zunächst untersucht, welche Nachhaltigkeitswirkungen existierende Geschäftsmodelle haben und wie sich diese voneinander unterscheiden. In der weiteren Analyse werden dann Möglichkeiten entwickelt, wie innovative nachhaltige Geschäftsmodelle im Massenmarkt für Bekleidung erfolgreich sein können.
StatusAbgeschlossen
Zeitraum01.01.1530.06.18
Art der FinanzierungGefördert vom BMBF in der Fördermaßnahme SOEF - Sozial-ökologische Forschung, Förderbereich Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften
Förderkennzeichen oder Vertragsnummer01UT1425D

Publikationen