Modelling, Explaining, Enacting and Getting Feedback: How can the Acquisition of Core Practices in Teacher Education be Optimally Supported?

Project: Research

Project participants

In this project, we investigate how the instructional phases of modelling, explaining, enacting and getting feedback should be designed in order to support student teachers’ acquisition of teaching competencies optimally. Theoretically, we focus on the notion of core practices. Following McDonald et al. (2013), core practices are domain-general and research-based instructional activities which are essential to the work of teaching and which novices can learn and begin to master in their early years. How should the acquisition of core practices in teacher education be instructionally supported? Should student teachers first try out a core practice independently before they study a modelling example and a theoretical explanation of the core practice? Or would it be more effective to study first the modelling example and the theoretical explanation before enacting the core practice? Can the acquisition of core practices be facilitated by a microteaching with peers that prepares the enactment of the core practice with pupils? How should feedback be designed in order to support the acquisition of teaching skills?
To answer these questions, we discuss and contrast crucial theoretical assumptions underlying important instructional approaches and skill-acquisition models from Educational Science and Educational Psychology (the Learning Cycle by McDonald et al., 2013, Productive Failure by Kapur, 2008, and ACT-R by Anderson and Schunn, 2000). Based on this theoretical discussion, we derive a number of hypotheses regarding the optimal sequencing and design of instructional phases which will be tested in four experimental training studies. The core practice to be trained is “Introducing pupils into the self-guided interpretation of informational texts”. This core practice can ideally be implemented by the research-based reading-strategy script “Reciprocal Teaching (RT)” developed by Palinscar and Brown (1984). We will systematically vary the composition of the teacher trainings as well as the sequencing and design of the training phases. As dependent variables we will measure (1) student teachers’ conceptual knowledge about and attitudes towards RT, (2) their professional vision of RT situations, and (3) their ability to professionally enact RT with pupils.
The project contributes to the empirical investigation of important instructional approaches and skill-acquisition models from practice-based teacher education and cognitive-psychological research on learning and instruction. Within empirical research on teacher education, there is currently a lack of experimental studies that systematically vary the instructional phases of modelling, enacting, and getting feedback, and measure the effects of these variations on teacher students’ knowledge, professional vision and teaching competence. On a theoretical level, the project advances the theoretical integration of instructional approaches that hitherto have been discussed in separated scientific communities. On a practical level, we will derive from our studies evidence-based practical recommendations of how competence-oriented teacher trainings should be designed.
StatusCurrent
Period01.08.2231.07.25

Modellieren, Erklären, Ausprobieren und Feedback erhalten: Wie kann der Erwerb von Core Practices in der Ausbildung angehender Lehrkräfte optimal gefördert werden?

Projekt: Forschung

Projektbeteiligte

In dem beantragten Forschungsprojekt wird untersucht, wie die instruktionalen Phasen des Modellierens, Erklärens, Ausprobierens und Feedbackerhaltens gestaltet werden müssen, damit angehende Lehrkräfte Handlungskompetenzen optimal erwerben können. Beim Erwerb von Handlungskompetenzen fokussieren wir sog. „Core Practices“ (McDonald et al., 2013), die als fachübergreifende, evidenzbasierte und trainierbare Tätigkeiten des Unterrichtens definiert werden. Sollen angehende Lehrkräfte erst „Core Practices“ ausprobieren und dann ein positives Modellierungsbeispiel und eine Erklärung bekommen? Oder ist es effektiver, erst ein positives Modellierungsbeispiel und eine Erklärung zu studieren, bevor sie die Core Practice ausführen? Kann der Erwerb von Core Practices durch ein vorstrukturiertes Ausprobieren im Microteaching zusätzlich gefördert werden? Welche Rolle spielt Feedback beim Kompetenzerwerb?
Zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen werden bedeutende erziehungswissenschaftliche und psychologische Instruktions- und Fertigkeitserwerbsmodelle (der „Learning Cycle“ von McDonald et al., 2013, „Productive-Failure“ von Kapur, 2008, sowie „ACT-R“ von Anderson & Schunn, 2000) in Hinblick auf zentrale theoretische Annahmen vergleichend diskutiert. Aus dieser Diskussion werden Hypothesen zur optimalen Abfolge und Gestaltung von Trainingsphasen abgeleitet, die in vier experimentellen Trainingsstudien geprüft werden. Die zu trainierende „Core Practice“ ist dabei das Anleiten von SchülerInnen im selbstregulierten Erschließen von Sachtexten, welche idealtypisch und evidenzbasiert durch das Lesestrategietraining „Reciprocal Teaching (RT)“ von Palinscar und Brown (1984) realisiert werden kann. Systematisch variiert wird die Komposition der Lehrtrainings sowie die Abfolge und konkrete Ausgestaltung der Trainingsphasen. Als abhängige Variablen werden das (1) konzeptuelle Wissen und die Einstellungen bzgl. RT, (2) die Kompetenz zur professionellen Wahrnehmung von RT-Teaching-Situationen, sowie (3) die Kompetenz, RT mit SchülerInnen fachgerecht durchzuführen, erfasst.
Das Projekt dient der empirischen Untersuchung prominenter Instruktions- und Fertigkeitserwerbsansätze aus erziehungswissenschaftlich geprägter Lehrkräfteforschung und kognitionspsychologischer Lehr-Lernforschung. Bislang finden sich für diese Ansätze keine Studien im Bereich der Lehrkräfteforschung, die die Instruktionsphasen des Erklärens, Modellierens, Ausprobierens und Feedbackerhaltens systematisch und kontrolliert variieren und die Lernwirkung auf Ebene des Wissens, der professionellen Wahrnehmung und der Handlungskompetenz untersuchen. Auf theoretischer Ebene leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag zur theoretischen Integration von Ansätzen, die bislang in getrennten „Scientific Communities“ behandelt wurden. In praktischer Hinsicht werden evidenzbasierte Empfehlungen erarbeitet, wie kompetenzorientierte Lehrtrainings in der Ausbildung angehender Lehrkräfte gestaltet werden sollten.
StatusLaufend
Zeitraum01.08.2231.07.25
Art der FinanzierungGefördert von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)