Development of a practice-proven method to simultaneously dehydrate and pelletize agricultural biomass

Project: Research

Project participants

The development of energy resources or feed and fertilizer from agricultural biomass is becoming increasingly important. The use of agricultural biomass for energy can also make an important contribution to solving the CO2 problem. The generally high water content of agricultural biomass causes problems for an economically efficient use of this raw material. This is especially true of transportation and storage for the industrial production of biomass raw material. The project has as its goal the development of a production-ready conditioning method for dehydrating and further conditioning agricultural biomass in a way that is both energy and cost efficient. The approach used is an eco-efficient method using an extruder technology for the mechanical dehydration. At the same time the economic conditions, the structure of the procurement and sales markets and their logistics as well as the integration in the local conditions of German markets are taken into account. This involves the development of value chains and business models that account for market volatilities of conventional and alternative raw materials and enable the use of neglected biomass sources.
At the following link there is a brief description of the project in the form of a poster presentation: Project poster "Conditioning of Biomass"
Work packages in detail: the study involves the sub-areas technical development, supporting economic analysis and the identification of potential and acceptance:
Technical development (Rehart GmbH): Development of a prototype extruder, test series and technical tests, technical test to assure readiness for production, development of an extruder ready for production.
Supporting economic study (CSM): Identification of the procurement and sales markets for sustainable raw materials, cost calculations and sensitivity analysis for a number of inputs and outputs, development of a logistics concept for procurement and sales, conceptualisation of value chains and business models.
Identification of potential and acceptance (Pellet Power GbR): Studies of regional and raw material potentials and quality requirements, identification of technology acceptance, tests of the use of potential products.

Remarks: We would like to thank the DBU (German Environmental Foundation) for funding and support for this project.
StatusCompleted
Period07.12.0614.11.09
Name of research programmeFunded by the DBU Foundation

Documents

Entwicklung eines praxisreifen Verfahrens zur zeitgleichen Dehydrierung und Pelletierung von Biomassen aus der Landwirtschaft

Projekt: Forschung

Projektbeteiligte

Der Bereitstellung von Energieressourcen oder auch Futter- und Düngemitteln aus landwirtschaftlichen Biomassen kommt eine wichtige Rolle zu. Die energetische Nutzung von landwirtschaftlichen Biomassen kann zudem einen Beitrag zur Lösung der CO2-Problematik leisten. Durch den in der Regel hohen Wassergehalt landwirtschaftlicher Biomassen treten Schwierigkeiten bei einer wirtschaftlich sinnvollen Nutzung dieser Rohstoffe auf. Dies betrifft insbesondere den Transport und die Lagerung für eine industrielle Bereitstellung von Biomasse-Rohstoffen. Daher zielt das Projekt darauf, ein serienreifes Konditionierungsverfahren zur Dehydrierung und weiteren Konditionierung landwirtschaftlicher Biomassen unter energie- und kosteneffizienten Bedingungen zu entwickeln. Verfolgt wird der Ansatz eines öko-effizienten Verfahrens zur mechanischen Entwässerung auf Basis der Extrudertechnik. Parallel werden die ökonomischen Rahmenbedingungen, die Struktur von Beschaffungs- und Absatzmärkten und deren Logistik sowie die Einbindung in die Gegebenheiten der deutschen Landwirtschaft analysiert. Hierzu werden entsprechende Wertschöpfungsketten und Geschäftsmodelle entwickelt, die einerseits die Marktvolatilitäten konventioneller als auch alternativer Rohstoffe berücksichtigen und andererseits die Nutzung bislang kaum genutzter Biomassen ermöglichen.

Arbeitspakete im Einzelnen: Die Untersuchungen erfolgen in den Teilbereichen technische Entwicklung, ökonomische Begleitanalysen sowie Potenzial- und Akzeptanzermittlung:

* Technische Entwicklung (Rehart GmbH): Entwicklung eines Probe-Extruders, Versuchsreihen und technische Tests, Sicherstellung der technischen Serienreife, Entwicklung eines praxisreifen Extruders
* Ökonomische Begleituntersuchung (CSM): Identifikation von Beschaffungs- und Absatzmärkten für nachwachsende Rohstoffe, Kalkulationen und Sensitivitätsanalysen für verschiedene Inputs und Outputs, Entwicklung eines Logistikkonzepts für Bezug und Absatz, Konzeption von Wertschöpfungsketten und Geschäftsmodellen
* Potenzial- und Akzeptanzermittlung (Pellet Power GbR): Studien zu regionalen Rohstoffpotenzialen und Qualitätsanforderungen, Ermittlung der Technologieakzeptanz, Verwendungsprüfung potenzieller Produkte
StatusAbgeschlossen
Zeitraum07.12.0614.11.09
Art der FinanzierungGefördert durch die Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt<br/>

Zugehörige Aktivitäten

Dokumente