Corporate Sustainability Barometer 2012. State of the art and progress of sustainability management in major German companies

Project: Research

Project participants

Sustainability challenges are becoming increasingly important for companies. Topics such as climate change, human rights and the finite nature of resources concern businesses more than ever. A growing number of companies and organizations thus address environmental and social issues, e.g. in form of reports, product innovations or the application of environmental and sustainability management tools and standards. Yet, little is known about the actual implementation of sustainability management. How do these measures impact the company on the one hand and the environment and society on the other? To what extent is sustainability integrated into the strategy and core business of companies?

Answers to these and further questions are given by the ‘Corporate Sustainability Barometer’ which serves to assess the state of the art and the progress of sustainability management in major companies. The data for the Corporate Sustainability Barometer is collected by the Centre for Sustainability Management (CSM) in a repeated survey among the largest companies in Germany extending beyond DAX 30 and MDAX 50. The current study is based on data collected in 2012.

The study is a comprehensive, broad range analysis of corporate sustainability in practice. In addition to the state of the art and the progress over time, the study also analyses current, relevant topics of corporate sustainability and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). The current study focuses on training and development for corporate sustainability. The data is used to develop recommendations and enables companies to benchmark their own position.
In the course of the current study from 2012 the survey was also conducted in partner institutions in ten countries in Europe, Asia, Australia and North America. These results will be published in the comparative study ‘International Corporate Sustainability Barometer’.

The Corporate Sustainability Barometer project is intended to serve the advancement of corporate sustainability and to contribute to the public awareness of the relevance of companies for sustainable development.
StatusCompleted
Period01.08.1131.12.13

Publications

Press/Media items

Corporate Sustainability Barometer 2012. Praxisstand und Fortschritt des Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements in großen Unternehmen

Projekt: Forschung

Projektbeteiligte

Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen nehmen für Unternehmen an Bedeutung zu, da Themen wie Klimawandel, Ressourcenendlichkeit und Menschenrechte mehr denn je auch die Wirtschaft betreffen. Eine wachsende Anzahl von Unternehmen und Organisationen adressiert entsprechend ökologische und soziale Belange, z. B. in Form von Berichten, Produktinnovationen oder der Berücksichtigung von Sozial- oder Umweltstandards. Doch wie erfolgt die konkrete Umsetzung des Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements in deutschen Unternehmen und welche Wirkungen gehen von diesen Maßnahmen aus? Inwiefern findet eine Integration von Nachhaltigkeit in Form einer Verankerung in Strategie und Kerngeschäft statt?

Antworten auf diese und weitere Fragen gibt das „Corporate Sustainability Barometer“, das regelmäßig den Praxisstand und die Entwicklung unternehmerischer Nachhaltigkeit ermittelt. Die Daten für das Corporate Sustainability Barometer werden anhand einer vom CSM durchgeführten – über den DAX 30 und den MDAX 50 hinausgehenden – Befragung der größten Unternehmen Deutschlands erhoben. Die aktuelle Studie basiert auf Daten aus dem Jahr 2012.

Die Untersuchung stellt eine breit angelegte Analyse der Praxis unternehmerischen Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements in Deutschland dar. Neben dem jeweiligen Stand und Fortschritt im Zeitverlauf beinhaltet dies auch die Darstellung und Analyse aktueller, relevanter Spezialthemen zu Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) und unternehmerischer Nachhaltigkeit. In der aktuellen Studie steht das Thema Aus- und Weiterbildung für unternehmerische Nachhaltigkeit im Fokus. Auf Basis der Erhebung wurden Handlungsempfehlungen abgeleitet und Unternehmen ein Benchmarking ermöglicht.

Im Jahr 2012 wurde in Kooperation mit Partnerinstitutionen in zehn Ländern aus Europa, Asien, Australien und Nordamerika auch erstmals eine internationale Befragung durchgeführt. Diese Ergebnisse werden in der Vergleichsstudie „International Corporate Sustainability Barometer“ veröffentlicht.

Mit der Durchführung des Projekts möchte das CSM zur Weiterentwicklung unternehmerischer Nachhaltigkeit und zur Stärkung des öffentlichen Bewusstseins über die Bedeutung von Unternehmen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung beitragen.
StatusAbgeschlossen
Zeitraum01.08.1131.12.13

Publikationen

Zugehörige Aktivitäten

Presseberichte