Corporate Sustainability Barometer 2010

Project: Research

Project participants

Sustainability is becoming an increasingly important issue for business. More than ever climate change, the finiteness of resources and human rights are issues that also concern business. A growing number of companies and organisations are addressing these ecological and social needs, e.g. in the form of reports and product innovations or by accounting for social and environmental standards. How is sustainability management actually practiced in German companies and what impact do these activities have? To what extent is sustainability integrated in the strategies and core businesses of companies?
Answers to these and other questions are given by the project “Corporate Sustainability Barometer” – How sustainable is business?”, which identifies the state of practice of corporate sustainability and its development. The study is conducted in cooperation between the Centre for Sustainability Management (CSM) of the Leuphana University Lüneburg with PricewaterhouseCoopers.
The data for the “Corporate Sustainability Barometer” are collected using a survey conducted by the CSM. As a longitudinal and cross-sectional analysis of the DAX 30 and MDAX 50 companies together with SMEs and family businesses, the study is a comprehensive, broad-based analysis of the practice of corporate sustainability in Germany. In addition to the current state and development over time, this study also involves the description and analysis of current, relevant topics in corporate social responsibility (CSR) and corporate sustainability.
The CSM and PwC hope that this project can make a contribution to increasing public awareness both of the importance of sustainability for companies as well as of the importance of companies for sustainable development. This study is intended to be a long-term project.
Together with determining the state of practice and development of corporate sustainability, it is the goal of the “Corporate Sustainability Barometer” project to determine the relevance of sustainability topics as well as success factors contributing to corporate sustainability. This data will be used to develop recommendations and enable companies to benchmark their own position.
The results will be published in spring 2010 and discussed in a workshop.

Remarks: The project was conducted in cooperation with PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC).
StatusCompleted
Period01.04.0931.03.10

Publications

Documents

Corporate Sustainability Barometer 2010

Projekt: Forschung

Projektbeteiligte

Nachhaltigkeitsanforderungen nehmen für Unternehmen an Bedeutung zu. Mehr denn je sind heutzutage Klimawandel, Ressourcenendlichkeit und Menschenrechte Themen, die auch die Wirtschaft angehen. Eine wachsende Anzahl von Unternehmen und Organisationen adressiert entsprechend ökologische und soziale Belange, z. B. in Form von Berichten, Produktinnovationen oder der Berücksichtigung von Sozial- oder Umweltstandards. Doch wie erfolgt die konkrete Umsetzung des Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements in deutschen Unternehmen und welche Wirkungen gehen von diesen Maßnahmen aus? Inwiefern findet eine Integration von Nachhaltigkeit in Unternehmen in Form einer Verankerung in Strategie und Kerngeschäft statt?


Antworten auf diese und weitere Fragen sollte die Ermittlung des Praxisstands und der Entwicklung unternehmerischer Nachhaltigkeit im Rahmen des Projekts "Corporate Sustainability Barometer" - Wie nachhaltig agieren Unternehmen? geben. Die Umfrage 2010 des Corporate Sustainability Barometers wurde von PricewaterhouseCoopers Aktiengesellschaft Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft (PwC) gefördert.


Die Daten für das "Corporate Sustainability Barometer" wurden anhand einer vom CSM durchgeführten Befragung erhoben. Die Untersuchung stellte im Sinne einer Längs- und Querschnittsanalyse eine über den DAX 30 und den MDAX 50 hinausgehende, auch mittelständische Firmen und Familienunternehmen umfassende und somit breit angelegte Analyse der Praxis unternehmerischen Nachhaltigkeitsmanagements in Deutschland dar. Neben dem jeweiligen Stand und Fortschritt im Zeitverlauf beinhaltet dies auch die Darstellung und Analyse aktueller, relevanter Schwerpunktthemen zu Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) und unternehmerischer Nachhaltigkeit.


Das CSM und PwC möchten mit der Durchführung des Projekts einen Beitrag zur Stärkung des öffentlichen Bewusstseins sowohl über die Bedeutung von Nachhaltigkeitsthemen für Unternehmen als auch über die Bedeutung von Unternehmen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung leisten. Das Projekt ist längerfristig angelegt.


Neben der Erhebung des Praxisstands und der Entwicklung unternehmerischer Nachhaltigkeit ist es Ziel des "Corporate Sustainability Barometers", die Relevanz von Nachhaltigkeitsthemen sowie Erfolgsfaktoren unternehmerischer Nachhaltigkeit zu ermitteln. Auf Basis dieser Datengrundlage werden Handlungsempfehlungen abgeleitet und Unternehmen ein Benchmarking ermöglicht.
StatusAbgeschlossen
Zeitraum01.04.0931.03.10
Art der FinanzierungGefördert von PricewaterhouseCoopers Aktiengesellschaft Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft (PwC)

Publikationen

Zugehörige Aktivitäten

Dokumente